Cultural Heritage Board

Principal duties of the Board include undertaking and updating historic inventories or surveys, recommending designation of Landmarks and Preservation Districts, reviewing proposed alterations to historic buildings, and promoting public awareness of preservation issues. If you are in a historic district or would like more information regarding historic districts, please see the Processing Review Procedures for Owners of Historic Properties. There are currently eight designated Preservation Districts in Santa Rosa: Burbank Gardens, Cherry Street, McDonald, Olive Park, Railroad Square, Ridgway, St. Rose, and West End. At the request of property owners, other potential districts may be considered. Preservation Districts are composed of both contributors and non-contributors to their districts. For questions about the general order of business at a Cultural Heritage Board meeting and how to address the Board at a public hearing, please see the Cultural Heritage Board General Order of Business.


Occur once a month on the 1st Wednesday at 2:30 p.m. (unless otherwise noted) 
in the City Council Chamber; City Hall, 100 Santa Rosa Ave, Santa Rosa, CA

Agendas, Minutes and Video 

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Legislative Portal

Resolution Archive


CHB Members: 

The Cultural Heritage Board consists of seven citizen volunteers appointed by individual City Council members based on their special expertise or interest in historical preservation. 

  • Stacey De Shazo, Chair
    Appointed by Ernesto Olivares
    Term Expires: December 31, 2020
  • Margaret Purser, Vice Chair
    Appointed by Tom Schwedhelm
    Term Expires December 31, 2018
  • Mark Debacker
    Appointed by Chris Rogers
    Term Expires December 31, 2020
  • Laura Fennell
    Appointed by Julie Combs
    Term Expires December 31, 2020
  • Ann Galantine
    Appointed by Chris Coursey
    Term Expires: December 31, 2018
  • John P. McHugh
    Appointed by Jack Tibbets
    Term Expires December 31, 2020
  • John Murphey
    Appointed by John Sawyer
    Term Expires December 31, 2018