Effective July 1, 2020, Santa Rosa implemented a $15/hour minimum wage ordinance in advance of the state minimum wage timeline. Per that ordinance, and reflecting the annual CPI-W adjustment, starting January 1, 2021, the new minimum wage rate will be $15.20 for all businesses regardless of size.
Please post this downloadable notice alongside your workplace postings (available in English and Spanish). The California Department of Industrial Relations requires employers to post information related to wages, hours and working conditions in an area frequented by employees where it may be easily read during the workday. Also listed below are additional resources and documents, including the notification mailer with answers to FAQs.
|2020 Official Notice||2021 Official Notice||Mailer with FAQs|
Overview of Santa Rosa minimum wage hourly rate and timeline in comparison with the State:
|Start Date||26 or more employees||25 or fewer||26 or more||25 or fewer|
|July 1, 2020||$15||$14||$13||$12|
|Jan. 1, 2021||$15.20||$14||$13|
|Jan. 1, 2022||+ CPI-W||$15||$14|
|Jan. 1, 2023||+ CPI-W||$15|
|Jan. 1 2024 and|
every subsequent Jan. 1
|+ CPI-W each year|
California Department of Industrial Relations - Labor Commissioner's Office
50 D Street, Suite 360
Santa Rosa, CA 95404
- City Council Study Session (July 16, 2019)
- City Council (October 1, 2019)
- Comp Cities List
- Draft Model Minimum Wage
- Fact Sheet
- League of California Cities "Minimum Wage Laws" Report
- Phase-in Requirement from Senate Bill 3
- Q&A from North Bay Jobs with Justice
- Seasonal Employee Minimum Wage Analysis
- Staff Report for Study Session
- Summary of Proposed Minimum Wage Ordinance
- UC Riverside Minimum Wage study
- UC Berkeley Minimum Wage study
Frequently Asked Questions
When will Santa Rosa's minimum wage be implemented?
On July 1, 2020 large business are required to pay employees $15 per hour and small businesses $14 per hour. Starting January 1, 2021, the minimum wage will be increased to $15.20 for all businesses in Santa Rosa, regardless of size. On January 1 of each subsequent, the minimum wage will increased a the rate of the prior year plus the Bay Area CPI-W
What if an employee only spends part of their work in Santa Rosa?
Santa Rosa's minimum wage applies to employees who work at least two (2) hours per week within the Santa Rosa city limits regardless of where the employer is based. Time spent in the City solely for the purpose of traveling through is exempt.
How is the Santa Rosa ordinance different than California or federal minimum wage?
Santa Rosa's ordinance has two distinctions from state law:
- The $15 minimum wage rate started on July 1, 2020.
- In California, a large business is defined as having 26 or more employees; a small business has 25 or fewer
- 45% of minimum wage workers are between the ages of 30 and 54
- 15% of minimum wage workers hold a bachelor's degree
- Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) is the monthly measure of the average change over time in the prices paid to urban wage earners and clerical workers in a given market. (Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
- The California Labor Commission's Officer enforces all labor laws, including local minimum wage ordinances, an may issue citations and penalties for violations on behalf of local jurisdictions.
- There is a three-year statute of limitations for an employee to seek remedies for violations and administrative enforcement
Questions about Santa Rosa's minimum wage (implementation, CPI) should be directed to the City of Santa Rosa; all other questions or concerns may be referred to the California Labor Commissioner.
City of Santa Rosa Economic Development Division
California Department of Industrial Relations - Labor Commission's Office