2018 City Council Candidates

In 2002, Santa Rosa voters passed a City Charter amendment that provides public financing for City Council election campaigns. The purpose of public financing is to reduce the cost of Council election campaigns and increase the accessibility of Council candidates to the voters.

To qualify for public financing, a candidate must sign a Voluntary Election Campaign Spending Limit Agreement in which the candidate agrees to a total campaign expenditure limit of $55,574. Candidates who agree to this expenditure limit are entitled to include candidate information on the City's website at and in a Voter Update mailed to each Santa Rosa residence.

To view the full list of all candidates and ballot measures, please visit http://vote.sonoma-county.org.


The following candidates have agreed to receive public financing for the 2018 City Council election:
close carousel

District 2 Candidate
Lee Pierce

Local Business Owner
P.O. Box 3037
Rohnert Park, CA 94927
Email Lee Pierce

lee pierce

District 2 Candidate
John Sawyer

City Council Member

1608 Deer Run
Santa Rosa, CA 95405
Email John Sawyer
Campaign Website

05 - Photo - CD2 - John Sawyer

District 4 Candidate
Mary Watts

Nonprofit Deputy Director

Email Mary Watts
Campaign Website
07 - Photo - CD4 - Mary Watts

District 4 Candidate
Dorothy Beattie

Small Business Owner

1275 4th Street
Santa Rosa, CA 95404
Email Dorothy Beattie
Campaign Website
09 - Photo - CD4 - Dorothy Beattie

District 6 Candidate
Tom Schwedhelm

Retired Police Chief

3508 Banyan Street
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Email Tom Schwedhelm
Campaign Website
11 - Photo - CD6 - Tom Schwedhelm